The Pitfalls from Living in a RV!

People rarely talk about the bad side of anything or maybe when I was searching living in a RV only the good things came up, not really knowing but let me tell you things are not as glamorous as one would think. I’m not in very good spirits these days and seem to be bordering on having a mental breakdown or so my doctor says, and quite frankly I’m inclined to agree with him.

The Isolation is the Worst!

I have been feeling so lonely these past few weeks that there are days that I just want to die. I can’t go anywhere unless I take the dogs and leaving them in a hot vehicle not an option, so here I am stuck with two dogs 24/7 that weigh in at 100+ pounds each, am I complaining you bet I am. I can’t even leave them unattended in the RV unless it’s raining and around 14 degrees and even then that’s usually early mornings around 5am, what’s there to do at that time of the morning absolutely nothing, that’s what!

Seems all I can focus on is crying and holy crap seems that’s all I do these days! There’s not just one thing that gets me going it can be anything like every time the fridge shuts off, oh I should mention it’s off as I write this, what a surprise – not!

Seems I have no reason to talk to family or friends on the phone anymore after all what do I have that’s new to say, nothing that’s what, just the same old crap day after day!

The Expense is Outrages!

When researching living in RV’s people would say how much cheaper it is and how they were saving money, now there’s a joke! The expense is far more greater then you would expect especially at this time of the year. RV parks for example charge anywhere from $240 – $300 a week and that’s if you want the full hookups, which why wouldn’t you since you have a trailer thats suppose to have all the amenities to keep you comfortable like your still living in a conventional home. I should also mention that the majority of the RV parks that I’ve talked to over the past month and half won’t take RV’s over 10 years old, WOW now what are we suppose to do, this piece of crap is something like a 1998, yes I called it a piece of crap why – because it is!

To Old for the Parks – Now What!

Don’t get me wrong there are a few RV parks that will actually take in this 5th wheel, not all parks are that picky and you’ve seen from my past posts that we have stayed in a few. If your considering living in a RV my suggestion do your homework, find a RV park that you like or even a few of them and ask millions of questions and do this before you give up your life as you knew it. I’m the first to admit that we jumped into this with both feet and never once took the time to research the bad side of living in a RV, and if we had this one were living in would never have been considered an option!

Has Anything Changed After We Moved!

You bet it has and not for the good either, do I regret this decision that we made so hastily hell yes I sure do! If given the option to return back into the normal way of living would I – you bet I’d be the first to say yes!

Let me do a re-cap and write the pros and cons and then you be the judge, bet you’d be on my side and want to return back to a normal life.

Living the Normal Way versus RV Living!

Pros/Cons

  • The dogs had their own fenced yard, they felt safe, came and went between the house and yard on their own. Now I have to find a home for our female because she simply hates moving around and most of the time refuses to even get in the truck. Plus they live on a leash now and don’t have the freedom that they were used to, is that fair I think not!
  • I had a job, maybe not the best one out there but it allowed me to get out and meet people, talk with people, mingle in society and yes even bring in a second income.
  • When I wanted to shower I just went and had one, didn’t have to worry about the tank being full, like today for example woke up wanting a shower but its not going to happen – why – the dam tank is full!
  • We used to go out for dinner twice a month, now we can only grab take out and eat it back at the trailer, you know why already the dogs.
  • The fridge makes me cry, every time I buy meat it shuts off and everything defrosts I’m so sick and tired of spending money only to cook everything in one day! Yes I realize that can happen with a regular fridge buy hey that’s what landlords are for.
  • Don’t even get me started on the one side of the trailer where it’s nothing but dry rot to the point where the siding could fall completely off (no wonder the RV parks don’t want us in there) it’s held on by duct tape, yes you read it right duct tape! Now we’re facing the mold in the walls and with me having bad lungs it’s just not worth the risk. Hey did I mention the ant hill inside the dry rot wall, that’s right ants they are everywhere and I swear if I get bit by one more I’m going to snap! This would be a landlords responsibilty when it comes to the mold and dry rot just not to sure about the ant infestation.
  • Laundry is another factor I should mention, we used to wash/dry clothes weekly but now first we have to find a laundromat then one of us has to sit there while the clothes are being done, can’t be both of us, you remember we have the dogs!

Am I Happy – Do I Sound Happy!

I can honestly say I’m not happy, haven’t been for the past few weeks for the first time in my life “I don’t know what to do” I don’t even know how to go about fixing things. It’s easy for people to sit and say ha ha you have nobody to blame but yourselves and you could very well be right. I thought you should know that the RV life is not easy, it’s not fun (unless your camping for a week or two) and it’s not for everyone!

There is a difference between giving up and knowing when you've had enough

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Pitfalls from Living in a RV!

  1. I’m so very sorry your in this situation my friend! Makes me very sad! I wish I could fix it for you! Big hugs! Love you much ❤️

    Like

  2. I am so sorry this has turned into a nightmare for you. We aren’t having a negative experience like you describe. Our biggest challenge has been feeling disconnected from our Christian family. We meet lots of people who live in their RV in our travels so we are slowly building a community of friends. We have a motorhome and tow a small car. This makes getting out and about easier for us. And cheaper with great gas mileage. We have a month long stay right now that is 430 for the month. I can’t imagine paying What you are paying for a space! Where are you? Is there a way we can pray for you?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Renae, I live up here in Canada on the south coast of Vancouver & Fraser Valley. I was thinking that if we too were in a place for a month long stay things might be better at least for me, with other people to talk and mingle with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

